Sunday, September 21, 2025

Touch move rule in chess

 I was playing chess with my nephew Aniruddha.


Accidentally I touched one of my pieces when playing.  Actually that piece was not the piece I wanted to move.


Aniruddha started pressurizing me to move the same piece which I accidentally touched !!!!!  


His pressure was upto such an extent that I hurriedly moved that piece without thinking.


Aniruddha instantly captured it and removed it from the board  !!!!


I asked him about this.


He said it is  Touch - move rule.


What is Touch - move rule  ???


If a player  touches a piece on the chess board , they must move that piece, if it is possible.



If the piece is in such a position, like it is blocked, player is not required to move it.



If the player touches  opponent's piece, they may be required to capture it if it is possible.



Eventually I lost this game....

No comments:

Post a Comment